Constitutional Law of India - Indian Kanoon
Constitutional Law of India - Indian Kanoon




The Constitutional Law of India is the most important pillar amongst all the laws in India.The Constitution of India was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 26th November 1949 and came into force on 26th January 1950.The Constitution of India is the longest written Constitution which contains 448 articles in 22 parts, 12 schedules and 118 amendments.

The Constitution declares India to be a sovereign, socialist, secular,  democratic, republic assuring its citizens of justice, equality, and liberty and endeavours to promote fraternity amongst them. Dr.B.R Ambedkar is considered as the father of the Constitution of India.

Every year India celebrates the adoption of Indian Constitution on 26th January as Republic Day.

The Constitution provides for a parliamentary form of government in India. As per Article 79 of the Constitution of India, the Parliament of India consist of the President and two houses to be known as the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) and the House of People (Lok Sabha).

As per Article 74(1) of the Constitution there shall be a Council of Ministers headed by the Prime Minister to aid and advice the President, who shall excercise his functions according to the advice.The real Excecutive power is vested in the Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister as its head.


Constitutional Law of India – Indian Kanoon